Food News: Health Magazine’s Top 10 Healthiest Fast Food Restaurants

In Health Magazine’s latest issue they list the Top 10 Healthiest Fast Food Restaurants.  There are a few surprises on the list and a couple of eye opening omissions.  Coming in at #1 on the list is Panera Bread.  You wouldn’t usually equate a bakery that sells breads, bagels and pastries with “healthy” would you?  Panera has enough options to build a healthy meal for those of us who are trying to watch our waist lines.  Whole grain breads are available for sandwiches as well as low fat soups and salads.

mar2009_mag150x2002

Panera Bread is the best, here are the rest:

When I look at this list there is one entry that sticks out like a sore thumb.  It’s McDonald’s and I’m sure you noticed it too.  I know they offer some salads and a couple of wraps, but how does a place famous for Big Macs, double cheeseburgers and french fries make the list of healthiest fast food restaurants?  Beats me.

As shocked as I was to see McDonald’s on the list, I was equally surprised to see Subway missing from it.  With options like oven roasted chicken breast, lean ham or roast beef how can Subway not be included on the list of healthiest fast food restaurants?   Subway currently offers 15 salads or sandwiches with 6 grams or less of fat.  That sounds pretty healthy to me and I’m sure Jared would agree.

Check out the article:

Health Magazine

9 responses to “Food News: Health Magazine’s Top 10 Healthiest Fast Food Restaurants

  1. I think it’s all about the latitude each place offers to customize. A typical Panera sandwhich really is not that healthy, but the fact that you can say “no mayo, no cheese, and whole grain bread” makes it a smart choice for those who want that aspect. And the fact that you can get Apples and baked chips.

    I’m a big fan of Einstein’s. Best bagels anywhere as far as I am concerned. Lot’s of choices too.

  2. I like Einstein Bros. too. Their California Chicken Wrap is really good….although with 630cal and 28g of fat it’s not the healthiest choice at Einstein.

  3. I have never even heard of most of these places. Are these national chains or just for localized areas?

    Taco Del Mar maybe be healthy but their foods tastes horrible.

  4. Jason’s Deli is the only one on the list that I’ve never seen before. I think most of these places are around major metro areas. Strange list as I consider a lot of the places in the Top 10 as fast casual and not fast food.

  5. As far as i know McDonald’s is the first on the list that I see around here in Canada.

    And what is healthy i believe that you can eat at a fastfood place everyday and still be healthy.

    But nothing beats you own made sandwich for lunch.

  6. What surprises me even more is that McDonalds is #8 on the list when it’s one of the main focal points of criticism from the media and in some previous cases being sued for causing people to get fat. Guess it’s them alternative food like salads, apple slices, and milk/juices that got them into the list.

  7. I think people have changed their perception of health though, too. It’s no longer about what has the lowest calories and fat for a lot of people; it’s about “trans fat free” and/or “organic.”

    Last I checked both can still make you fat though if not enjoyed in moderation.

  8. Subway should definitely be up there…like #1. I think these guys were paid off. I mean Mcdonalds really has no stake in a nutritional diet. No one goes there for their salads.

    Panera Bread as #1 is also crap. I mean one of their salads is more fattening than 2 double whopppers with the dressing they give you.

    Health magazine should be ashamed. I say we all eat at Panera Bread for the next year and after we gain 100 lbs we sue Health mag!

  9. Pingback: Topics about Restaurants » Food News: Health Magazine’s Top 10 Healthiest Fast Food Restaurants «

Leave a Reply

