Snack Review: Glenny’s Lightly Salted Low Fat Soy Crisps

Written by Adam, GrubGrade Contributor

Choices.  We make them everyday.  With “about a buck” in nickels and dimes I made one just the other night, as I had to decide between a trusted standby and an intriguing alternative for my after work snack fix at the local CVS.  In the interest of full disclosure I should mention that I am, by most accounts, a fairly healthy snacker.  By no means an isolationist when it comes to all things salty or crunchy however, I often long for a repose from the ever-present Baked Lays I frequently encounter in the gas station mini mart.

Glenny's Soy Crisps 1

I found such an option in Glenny’s Lighty Slated Low Fat Soy Crisps, but it came at a cost.  Literally yes, but also in terms of opportunity.  You see, in order to afford these “crisps” I had to forgo a similarly priced bag of Baked Utz chips, a personal favorite of mine.  With the ugly head of opportunity cost pushing me out of my comfort zone, I made the bold decision in going with the soy crisps, which pack an impressive 10 grams of protein at only 140 calories per 1.3 oz bag

Glenny's Soy Crisps 2

I really didn’t know what to expect out of these, and I can’t exactly say it was love at first bite.  Peering cautiously at what appeared to be a malformed rice cake, I slowly began eating the crisps, which initially lacked any flavor.  However, I soon came to realize I was going about this in all the wrong way, and more or less just dug in. 

Glenny's Soy Crisps 3

Believe it or not it made all the difference.  Slowly but surely I began getting hints of a strong potato flavor, which interestingly enough didn’t even strike me as overly artificial.  Giving myself more time to savor the chips as I chewed, I also picked up the subtle nature of the salt, as well as a taste which I can only describe as something only previously encountered in other baked potato chips.  Usually this would be nothing to write home about, but because these things are made with a combination of soy and rice flour and contain an obnoxiously healthy resume, I think it’s worth pointing out.  Also worth pointing out is the myriad of potentially tastier flavor combinations Glenny’s produces for their “crisps.”

Glenny's Soy Crisps 5

I have to admit that despite the potentially negative connotation of a dude such as myself munching on “soy crips,” these little whipper snappers turned out to be very good.  While I tend to enjoy my baked snacks on the saltier side (hence, by personal favorite in the Utz baked line) I think the “lightly” salted flavor makes you slow down and enjoy these more.  Yes, they may look bland as all get out and appear to taste like cardboard, but you’re actually getting a comparatively strong potato flavor without that nasty rice cake aftertaste.  While they won’t soon be confused with good old fashioned fried chips, I find these more than an acceptable substitute to Baked Lays, and a strong challenger to Baked Utz chips. 

Pros: Actually tastes like a potato despite having no potato elements found within it.  Surprisingly strong flavor for something that looks unbelievably bland.  Isn’t overwhelmed by salt.  Ridiculously healthy with only 2 grams of fat and 10 grams of protein per bag. 

Cons: Boring and underwhelming if eaten one at a time, or if not properly chewed.  Texture takes some getting used to. Could use a little more salt.  Probably doesn’t taste as good if you weren’t already on the baked snack bandwagon.  Has the unfortunate distinction of not being a very manly snack.  Looks like a mold encrusted rice cake. 

GrubGrade: 8.25/10  (Very Good)

Price: $0.99 at CVS

Glennys.com

Nutrition – Glenny’s Lightly Salted Low Fat Soy Crisps

Servings per 1.3 Oz Bag: 2

Calories: 140
Total Fat: 2g
Saturated Fat: 0g
Trans Fat: 0g
Carbohydrates: 18g
Sodium: 320mg
Fiber: 3g’
Sugars: 2g

Protein: 10g

 

5 responses to “Snack Review: Glenny’s Lightly Salted Low Fat Soy Crisps

  1. We have a brand in the uk called Snack-a-Jacks, I have to say I have tried them a few times, its like chewing a piece of polystyrene.

    These and rivita cardboard crackers. I’m glad I don’t want to become a healthfood fan LOL

  2. Hmmm, I may actually have to give these a try. A tasty alternative to the potato chip….it’s about time.

  3. Pingback: Secondhand food review: Glenny’s Soy Crisps « Our New Kitchen

  4. As someone who doesn’t cook with salt, yet loves chips but can’t tolerate the flavor of salty stuff (why do you mock me Munchos!?), I’ll definitely check this out!

  5. Maybe you can get them to make a “Mrs Dash” flavored soy crisp?

    Honestly, I think you need salt in a snack like this. Nevermind that a Potato does not have a lot of taste to begin with, but something that is even more tasteless (soy+rice) being flavored to taste like a Potato definetly needs salt.

Leave a Reply

